This page has already been transcribed. You can find new pages to transcribe here.


[Page 192]

General Walker's Report
[Major General H.B. Walker, an English General, commanded the 1st Brigade from 30 April, following death of General McLaurin]
The following units of the Australian Forces landed in April and May on the Gallipoli Peninsular.

First Australian Division
Composed of
First Infantry Brigade – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Battn – Brig. General McLaurin
Second Infantry Brigade – 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th Battn – Brig. Gen. McKay [MacCay]
Third Infantry Brigade – 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th Battn – Brig. Gen. Sinclair MacLagan D.S.O.

Three Artillery Brigades under command Brigadier General Hobbs, and portions of the Divisional Columns, and Brigade Ammunition Columns; Field Ambulances and Supply Column. The Second Light Horse Brigade – Brig. General Ryrie composed of the 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th Light Horse Regiments
Three Field companies of Engineers – Commanding Lt. Col. Elliot, R.E.

In The New Zealand & Australian Division
There were the 4th Infantry Brigade – Commanding Brig. Gen. Monash
Battalions were the 13th, 14th, 15th, & 16th also the 1st Light Horse Brigade – Commanding Brig. Gen. Chauval, CMG.
Regts. 1st, 2nd, 3rd Regiments – The above had been superfluous to the establishment of the First Australian Division, therefore were given to the New Zealand and Australian division which was not up to establishments in New Zealanders. Thus General Birdwood's Army Corps was composed mainly of Australians.

Current Status: